1. Lea`Brooks

Lea`Brooks Contributor Contributor

Portable typing devices?

Discussion in 'Writing Software and Hardware' started by Lea`Brooks, Apr 6, 2014.

Hola!

I write a LOT easier when I'm outside. It clears my head and helps me to come up with new creative ideas. The problem is I'm a slow hand writer. So I'm unable to write much in an hour because it takes me so long. And if I use my laptop, I get soooo distracted! I have to check my email or my Facebook, or look up what that word means, or find another word for this word, or look for pictures that look like my main characters.. I know I shouldn't be checking email or Facebook, and that I should be changing words during editing, but I can't help it. :(

So, I'm interested in purchasing a portable writing device that I can take out on the porch with me or to the park or on vacation. Is there any that you use and recommend? Is a small keyboard better than a full size keyboard? Internet or no (in my case it should be no, but maybe there's a pro I'm missing)? Small screen or large?

Anything you can suggest would be greatly appreciated. :)
    Thanks!
    Lea

PS: So sorry if I put this in the wrong spot or if there's another thread for this. I tried to search for it but what I found wasn't quite what I was looking for.

2. Lewdog

Lewdog Come ova here and give me kisses! Supporter Contributor

I'm not exactly sure what you are looking for here. A laptop without a network connection would probably be your best bet. They do have keyboards that can connect to touch pads but even with those you are going to run into the same problem of the internet distraction. You're just going to have to build some ability to defeat the internet monster! :D

3. minstrel

minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Supporter Contributor

Ever try one of those little voice recorders? Just dictate your stuff and transcribe it later. Those things have no screen or keyboards, so you can't get tempted by the internet.