Tags:
  1. IndianaJoan

IndianaJoan New Member

Politics and such...

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by IndianaJoan, Oct 17, 2006.

I sat by as a young person, unimpressed when laws passed requiring children to be seatbelted in. This was a good thing, right? Protecting our children.

I sat idly by as they passed laws requiring motorcycle riders to wear helmets..this was a good thing..right? Keeps people from endangering their own lives and costing us horrendous amounts of money for their long term care medical bills racked up due to brain damage.

I sat and listened a little more intently as they spoke of banning cigarettes from the workplace..after all, I worked in a hospital and smoked in the break room during breaks.

I became enraged when laws passed banning smoking from all places within 20 feet of any door, window or air vent. And I no longer smoke, but it still infuriated me.

I felt myself fuming when people were instructed they could no longer smoke at ALL, at work OR at home, without being fired from their jobs. They are a health risk to the companies that hire them they said.

I became furious when people were breathalyzed at work and fired for smoking at home. Fired for smoking period. Yes, its true.

What is next...what constitutes a health risk? Are you too fat? Is your morbid obesity costing your company money? Is that a Krispy Kreme I smell on your breath? You are fired.
    You have a long term illness? You're diabetic? Im sorry, you will cost the company too much in medical expenses and cause our rates to soar..you're fired..

I am reminded of a phrase I heard somewhere:

They came for XYZ but it wasnt me, so I paid them no mind..

They came for ABC, but it still wasnt me, so I paid them no mind..

They came for me and there was no one left to defend me..so they took me away too