1. hainguyen

hainguyen New Member

What Should I Do?...

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by hainguyen, Mar 27, 2022.

Hello,
    I am in the process of writing a short story collection. I'm not finished yet, but I was thinking of the next step already. I heard that it's much better (or maybe even recommended) for unknown writers to submit/publish some of their short stories in magazines or something in the same vein in order to get some recognition.

That being said, do you have any suggestions or recommendations on how should I proceed, please? Obviously, the first thing I got to do is to finish all the stories, which I am counting on. The reason I am asking now is to be ahead of the curve, so, whenever I am done with the manuscript, I know what to do next, or at least, have an idea about my next step(s).

I have zero experience when it comes to this process (besides writing, of course), so, if you could help me out somehow, please, that'd be lovely. Thank you very much, I appreciate any advice.

Cdn Writer likes this.
  2. deadrats

deadrats Contributor Contributor

Get a subscription to Duotrope. And get a copy of The Pushcart Prize to read a sampling of the different journals and the stories getting the prizes. You've got to read what's out there if you want a chance at this tough biz. Where you publish will matter if you are hoping for some recognition. This is not easy. There are long waits that usually turn out form rejections. You have to expect a real lot of rejection. What you have to do is learn the industry and who the key players are. You'll need to put in some effort and create a plan from there. But it can take years for a story to sell, and sometimes another year until it comes out in the publication. Good luck to you.

3. Catriona Grace

Catriona Grace Mind the thorns Contributor Contest Winner 2022