Tags:
  1. Thorn Cylenchar

Thorn Cylenchar Senior Member

What would increasing the speed of tectonic plate movement do?

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by Thorn Cylenchar, Sep 22, 2019.

Last edited: Sep 27, 2019
  2. SpokenSilence

SpokenSilence Member

Reading this, please keep in mind I'm not a professor of geology or chemistry, okay ;)

I'm guessing that a speed up (I think it's not really a jump start as the tectonical movement already happens) would cause all of the upper: earthquakes, volcanoes, breaking of tectonical plates - or actually: it would speed all of this up.
    Why: the process of heating and melting the crust material that is then moved within the mantle and resurfaces ad the mid-oceanic ridges or oter volcanoes is a continouus circle. It's not a like a factory where a shipment begins at one end and te products is at the other - the material doesn't run out like a shipment would.
    As long as the direction of the movement wouldn't change, the breaking would continue on these fractional lines, volcanoes would build up as they always would and earthquakes would work exactly te same. Merely the time would be sped up in general.
    So if anything "new" would come up it would merely surface some place it would have surfaced either was because conditions would have met anyway.
    Keep in mind: if you were to jump start the tectonical movement the only way (even considering magic) would be a manipulation of the chemical and physical make up of the earth, if you get what I mean. The kind of tectonic activity, the time it takes is dependant upon the physical forces at work and the chemical reactions within the earth.
    Just speeding up time measurement wouldn't do anything. We'd just count more days til something happened.
    Speeding up time in general would probably do as I've described above: speeding up the entire process, but also speeding up life of everything on earth - so little would actually happen, I guess.