1. Scarecrow28

Scarecrow28 New Member

Too much action?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Scarecrow28, Sep 3, 2008.

How can you tell if your writing has "too much action"? Keep in mind, I am an action/adventure writer, so its kind of vital to the genre, but I'm wondering if I can have too much. Suprisingly, most reviews I've read of novels that consist of nothing but action (think Matthew Reilly) aren't critisized for amount of action, but the poor prose and lack of good characters.

So, if 1/3 or so is action, is this bad as long as its evened out with "lull" scenes and the action isn't completely pointless and is actually important to the plot?

2. Sophronia

Sophronia New Member

There's nothing wrong with having action in a book, but, depending on your story, there should be a borderline between how much you want and how much is actually needed to tell a story. If you have too much action, your reader can become confused as to what the story is and even bored with repetitive..ness (is that even a word??XD) unless you're somehow conveying the story to the reader at the same time the action occurs.

In the end, it's completely up to you. Hope I helped.

Toomanypens likes this.
  3. Last1Left

Last1Left Active Member

Repetitiveness is a word, don't worry.

Moving on topic, I think you have too much action when the story and characters take a backseat to it. Imagine the old kung fu movies in which the acting is horrible and the plots moronic. That being said, if you can write an action scene well, then don't let your readers miss out.

4. Kylie

Kylie New Member