1. Lucy1712

Lucy1712 New Member

Research - my one true weakness!!

Discussion in 'Research' started by Lucy1712, May 29, 2012.

As an aspiring writer, I have one short coming...

I detest research.

At the moment, I need to do some research in the effects and speed of death by sleeping pill overdose. So far my lack of research skills have only offered up people saying that death is not the answer and that people should call the suicide hotline.
    So if anyone could point me in the right direction on how to research this properly, I'd really appreciate it!

- L

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Google barbiturate overdose

Recommendation for research in general - Wikipedia should not be your primary or only reference point. You may get an adequate capsule summary, but don't consider it the final word on anything. Some articles are wildly biased and inaccurate. Some may be fine. The problem is knowing which is which.

Always look at a range of sources, and keep the source in mind when deciding how reliable the information is.

3. Houda

Houda New Member

Well for a start take a look at this for your sleeping pill problem. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sedative

But in general when researching things like this (I've had to do a lot for the novel I'm writing, solar flares, asteroids, mental illness, explosives the list really goes on) I tend to look more for scientific articles rather than opinionated pieces. Wikipedia as Cogito suggested was my main source of information gathering. Instead of say googleing side affects of sleeping pills Google sleeping pills get the scientific name for it which in this case would be Sedatives then use that term to google the effects of overdose on sedatives, if you get what i mean?

4. Lucy1712

Lucy1712 New Member