1. Alex R. Encomienda

Alex R. Encomienda Contributor Contributor

When did you fellow writers start to call yourselves writers?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Alex R. Encomienda, Mar 13, 2017.

What was the moment you decided that you were officially a writer/author?

I know we've all wanted this since we were quite young and personally, this has been my life ever since I graduated high school. It feels like a very lonely road as if I'm chasing something not many people care about but then I come on here and it's comforting to know that you're all doing what I'm doing.

So when was that moment? Has it came yet?

Let's discuss!

2. ChaseTheSun

ChaseTheSun Senior Member

Um. Well I've been writing for over ten years, and I've been published in very small scale publications several times, but I don't know if I really started calling myself a writer until a year ago. I think because I committed to writing a novel for the first time, and actually started turning that into a reality, I began to tentatively refer to myself as a writer. Before that, I would say with a self-deprecating smile, "I like writing."

I think because so few non-writer people actually comprehend what it's like to have writing be such a big part of your life (whether personally or professionally) we tend to down-play ourselves so as to make ourselves more palatable to the general public. Also, I'm only 22. Nobody takes us younger ones seriously until we've proven ourselves. People have begun to realise that I'm serious about the novel thing (I've been steadily working on it for 14 months now) and the result is that I'm slowly working up the courage to call myself a writer as a more 'normal' thing. I don't know if I'll really feel comfortable using the term until my first book is published. I just don't know if I've earned it yet. Maybe that's wrong?

Lifeline likes this.
  3. JE Loddon

JE Loddon Active Member