1. Kratos

Kratos New Member

Different sort of problem...

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by Kratos, Sep 19, 2008.

A lot of writers seem to have "problems" with writing too much: they elaborate and drag on and are left with a collosal amount of work on which to edit. I find that I have the opposite problem. As a person, and as a writer, I don't really get into details. I say what has to be said, and move on. I've tried adding description, but I'm sure where to fit it in. I'm sure that most are you are going to say that length doesn't matter, but I just wanted to know how to make my writing a bit longer and cover more.

Thanks.

2. Dcoin

Dcoin New Member

Perhaps you can start with certain parts and elaborate only those parts. For example, first add embroidery only to the settings in your book. Once setting is done, move on to your characters. Repeat as needed with other parts of the book.

Sometimes its hard to imagine how to bulk up an entire book, but if you can bulk up a little bit at a time it may become more manageable.

3. Kylie

Kylie New Member

Description is supposed to help the reader get more of a sense what's going on. So look through your book, which scenes need some 'description' that will help the reader know what's going on? Work on those first. I think the more you do it the more natural it will become for you.
    I hope this makes sense.

4. Becca D

Becca D New Member

You should also keep in mind that you may not need extra descriptions - if your style tends to the short and sweet (and less description fits the genre you're writing in), then maybe it's not a bad thing to practice developing your style the way it is.
    Of course, it's always good to practice other writing styles because it will only help you get better. But ultimately, you might find that your own unique voice is in to-the-point writing. :)

5. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor