1. Envy123

Envy123 New Member

Trimming a plot

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Envy123, Oct 24, 2015.

Hi guys. I'm new here. :)

I've been writing since 2001, and recently, I found my old stories. Pretty dusty and I also have missing pages that I seemed to have lost in the countless moves I had in the past.

I'm trying to piece together one of my best stories and turn into a digital novel, and I'm having a bit of trouble. Piecing the events together in a coherent way is fine, but the one problem I am having is padding.

There is too much dialogue and inaction, especially in the beginning, and goes on for at least 50 pages before the actual story even starts. Some of the dialogue and actions are relevant to future events, so trying to remove some dialogue has the risk that some events may not make sense. The critics who read my story agree with me, saying that the story takes too long to grip the reader.

Any advice on the best way to proceed from this plot trimming would be appreciated. :)

If more details are required, then I would happily give them.

2. seekparadise

seekparadise New Member

I'm not expert but just be ruthless. As quickly as possible, establish your characters, and try to combine some of this dialogue into just one or two scenes max perhaps. Could you move some of these events up towards the beginning?

3. DefinitelyMaybe

DefinitelyMaybe Contributor Contributor

It's also possible to move things around, and have the backstory later or details of the setting/environment later. What is in the first 50 pages?

4. Envy123

Envy123 New Member

Thank you :)

I've now rewritten the first chapter, so I could introduce the action and characters first.

The first 50 pages are mainly just the two protagonists fooling around and being immature. I wrote the story as I went along and I didn't expect it to have a life of its own, and evolve into something interesting. It introduces the actual setting and goes in a lot of detail about it.