1. teeekilicious18

teeekilicious18 Member

Any critiques for beginners?

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by teeekilicious18, Aug 27, 2014.

I love reading but I have never done any constructive critiques before, it's my first time so is there any thing to critique for beginners? It's a huge jump.

2. stevesh

stevesh Banned Contributor

Me neither, despite the "Reviewer' banner. I intend to just jump right in any day now. I assume if I get the critiquing thing wrong, folks here will let me know.

Mike Hill and teeekilicious18 like this.
  3. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

If you want, you can take a look at some of the other critiques in the Workshop to get a feel for how to critique. That should give you some ideas on where to start, what to look for, etc. After that, just jump right in and start critiquing.

teeekilicious18 likes this.
  4. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

You could start with something short like flash fiction. It's easier to penetrate than most poetry or evensong lyrics, and the brevity makes it a bit less intimidating.

5. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

Most writers are just looking for an honest reaction to what they've written. If you can say what you like or don't like about the piece you choose, that will be very helpful. You don't actually need to offer advice to 'fix' it, if you don't feel confident doing that. Just pick a Workshop entry that stirs a reaction in you, and go for it. You'll do fine, I'm sure.

GingerCoffee and teeekilicious18 like this.
  6. Count Otto Black

Count Otto Black New Member