1. Imaginarily

Imaginarily Disparu en Mer Contributor

When to start the plot

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Imaginarily, Feb 12, 2016.

Hello lovely forum :-D

I need some opinions. My WIP with Jack is starting to take shape nicely in terms of story arc and planning, and I'm wondering when the actual plot should come in. I've spent two chapters introducing characters and setting, and I plan for the main conflict to make its first appearance at the beginning of Chapter 3.

Among the comments I've received so far though, many of them are things like "Yeah but what are we actually doing here?" So, I can only assume that I should inject some plot before Chapter 3, right?

Thoughts? Suggestions? o_O

2. Davek74

Davek74 New Member

I'm not an expert (although I aim to be ☺) but, if it was my story, I'd be making chapter 3 my opening chapter as it sounds where the interesting bits start.
    The best piece of advice I had was to start in the middle of the action, that's then your opening hook. Do the first 2 chapters really contain information so important that you couldn't make the 3rd chapter understandable without them ?

tumblingdice and Feo Takahari like this.
  3. Defender

Defender New Member

well, personally, i think you shouldn't worry about trying to introduce the characters and all of that, start writing the story and as let the story define your characters as it will do a much better job as it forces the character to act in different situations, if you want to define your character, start at chapter one ! :)

4. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

You've changed the main plot of your story since writing current Chapter 1, right? So originally, 1 was kinda 'the inciting incident' and now it's a bit of a sidetrack. That might mean what @Davek74 said - the new inciting incident becomes Chapter 1.