Tags:
  1. Megs33

Megs33 Active Member

When you wish you could quit your job

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Megs33, Nov 1, 2016.

I work as an admin.

I sit at a computer all day, manage calendars, set meetings, and file paperwork.

I am way. too. ADD. for this.

I entertain fantasies about waking up on any given weekday morning and spending it calmly contemplating story ideas over a cup of coffee on my back porch. No commute. No meetings. Just me and my (presumably) awesome ideas.

It is a constant struggle to focus on my 8-5 job and I consider the merits of putting in my notice so I can work freelance and spend my days writing, learning, and producing.

...and then i remind myself that I have nowhere near enough experience to make that a viable or constructive option. And also, y'know, money.

Never mind the fact that my ruminations come standard with a set of rose-colored glasses. I'm not stupid per se, more like blindly optimistic.

Either way it's a moot point and I know it. But it's still fun/wildly distracting to think about.

I can't imagine I'm the only one who feels this way.

2. matwoolf

matwoolf Banned Contributor

That's fine.

Over here at the moment - there's an advertisement for [Apple] I think, maybe..(?)

- a cool couple sky-dive, mountaineer, live with tribes in the jungle, holiday every day of their lives - since their honeymoon they say, blog about their 'experience' on their Apple and EVERYBODY in the entire country hates them.

Admin is THE most honourable profession for a writer. Imagine, some people on here work in laboratories - probably torture mice. Others are IT sex pests, some just sit in their pyjamas - that's how I got involved - back in the old days.

Obviously (I) have a proper career now, can't tell you too much, ONLY be reassured, I think is the word.

3. Likas

Likas New Member