Tags:
  1. Philliggi

Philliggi Member

Which notebook?

Discussion in 'Writing Software and Hardware' started by Philliggi, Aug 18, 2018.

After finishing my first draft of my first book using pen and paper, and typing it up on my phone, I asked the forum for advice before moving on to the editing process.

The overwhelming feedback was get myself a laptop.

Now I drive for a living and write on my tacho break. Due to the size of a laptop, a notebook is much more feasible.

Do any of you use a notebook to write, and what should I be looking for in the spec? I need to keep it as cheap as possible as money is a little tight at the moment. You can get them for around £100 but I don't want to buy the cheapest of the cheap if it's not fit for purpose.

Any advice much appreciated

2. Amontillado

Amontillado Senior Member

Chromebooks are about as cheap as they come for new laptop-like devices, but they aren't as flexible as more general purpose machines. If you follow the beaten path, your writing will be done in Google Docs and saved in Google's cloud. Walmart has several available for $150 or so.

Sticking with Wally-world, I see they have an RCA Android tablet with a keyboard for $69.98. Another candidate for writing in Google Docs on a gentle budget.

My current philosophical peregrinations include a preference for writing in plain text. It goes anywhere. I'm considering a tablet, probably a low-end iPad. My word process of choice (Nisus) isn't available for tablets, so I've started using plain text. You can work on plain text files anywhere - tablet of any type, PC of any type, the antique mainframe you keep in the basement, an Alphasmart Neo, anything. Adorn your plain text with simple Markdown notation (like _italics_ for italics) and it covers much of what a creative writer needs. Best, your work isn't trapped on any particular platform.