1. ohmyrichard

ohmyrichard Active Member

potential reader

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by ohmyrichard, Sep 25, 2008.

Hi,everyone. I am a Chinese teacher of English writing at a university in eastern China. In the past month I have finished reading the book Teaching Writing in Second and Foreign Language Classrooms by Jessica Williams, a female American professor,who works at University of Illinois at Chicago. This book focuses on ESL writing and touches upon EFL writing. After my reading of the book, I am still confused about the issue of potential reader in the EFL writing situation. I mean, who would be that potential reader when students are writing in English as a foreign language, their non-native speaker teacher,who may not have that good feel for the English language either, or the native speaker? As I always think that the foreign English majors' ultimate goal in learning English is to acquire the ability of communicating in English with native speakers or non-native speakers who enjoy English proficiency in the end, it would produce a better teaching result if the teacher always asks his/her students to have the potential reader of the native speaker in mind whenever they are engaged in an English writing activity.In this way students will try their utmost to express themselves in the ways that are acceptable to native speakers or just the way native speakers write or speak. And then it would be a virtuous circle. If the teacher is also not sure of something in his/her students' essays, he or she also need to consult native speakers for possible solutions. Only in this way can the quality of students' English essays be guaranteed. In this triangle relationship, the teacher only acts as a representative of native speakers or a judge. Please tell me, Is my assertion sensible? What's your understanding of the issue? I plan to write an article on this topic---the potential reader for EFL writers, so I need your answers to my questions badly.