1. The inquisitive writer

The inquisitive writer Member

Why is my writing terrible?

Discussion in 'Fan Fiction' started by The inquisitive writer, Jul 27, 2020.

I am coming to the end of a fan fiction story that I have been writing for a couple of years (yes, I know fanfic isn’t exactly the height of literature, but it refused to leave my head until I wrote it). It’s turned out to be far longer than I thought it would (over 130,000 words with a couple of chapters to go) and I have had very positive feedback from readers. It’s pretty good, if I say it myself. There’s even been the odd moment of ‘Wow, I actually wrote that!’
    Yesterday I started on an original work, which I have had stuck in my head for ages. Barely a hundred words in and I am completely demotivated. Everything I write seems so clumsy and artless, it’s as if I’ve forgotten how words even work. I have read about a writer’s ‘voice’ and I cannot figure out why my voice, which works so well for the story I’m almost done with, seems so inadequate for the one I am just starting. I was wondering if anyone else has had this experience, and how you dealt with it? Is this a common thing?
    Not sure if I’m looking for advice or simply an excuse to have a good whinge about it. Either way, any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Room with a view likes this.
  2. Room with a view

Room with a view Senior Member

Muscle memory man, you gotta use it or you lose it.

Start with short stories about day trips or funny things that happened.

Get back into the groove.

Also, having just spent 2 years on your project you gotta consider burn out.

3. Laurin Kelly

Laurin Kelly Contributor Contributor

I'm someone who started out writing fanfic and eventually transitioned to original fiction (although I still dabble in fanfic from time to time).