1. alittlepronetopanic

alittlepronetopanic New Member

Why were witches burned at the stake?

Discussion in 'Research' started by alittlepronetopanic, Feb 11, 2021.

This is my first time attempting at writing a novel, and I'm already finding a plot hole that needs a bit of filling in.

First of, a bit of backstory to my novel;

It's a fantasy novel set in the 18th century England. My lead characters have Witchcraft, his mother (one of the mc's) was burned at the stake, despite being immortal and I was wondering if there was a way around this with facts? Or can I, for example, say that burning is the only way to kill an immortal person with Witchcraft, maybe it released the "evil" within them? I just wonder if because it is Fantasy, I can bend the rules a little.

The novel is set in 1732, but the one who was burned was born in 1552, and stopped aging when she was about 41.

2. big soft moose

big soft moose An Admoostrator Admin Staff Supporter Contributor Community Volunteer

background here https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Witchcraft_Acts and https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Witch_trials_in_England

your book is set about 50-100 years too late... witch trials waned in the 1700s being outlawed completely in 1735

that aside you can say anything you want because its fiction, but if you want a historically accurate novel you'll need to do a bunch of research... in essence there are two theories about burning , the high road says that it was theologically necessary because those who were the instrument of the devil could otherwise return from the grave (witches that were not burnt were usually pinned in the grave with iron stakes for the same reason), the low road says that it is a deeply unpleasant way to die and thus helps spread terror and thus increase the authority of the witchfinders

Catrin Lewis, Idiosyncratic and alw86 like this.
  3. SwordFighter

SwordFighter New Member

Witches, were burned, because they, were weird for their times.