1. Audrey

Audrey New Member

Writing about an adopted child?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Audrey, Mar 15, 2013.

Hello!
    I am currently drafting a YA novel where the protagonist is adopted. She is Thai, but was adopted by a Caucasian couple as a small child and grew up thinking she was also Caucasian. Her status as an adopted child does not have a major influence on the overall plot, but I want to try to portray as realistic a portrayal of such a situation. I have no knowledge of adoption, and I grew up in a very happy house with my birth parents, so I have little to go on.

2. jazzabel

jazzabel Agent Provocateur Contributor

There is a wealth of information on the internet and in fictional literature, about these issues. You need to spend some time researching it on Google. I have one recommendation, a film called "Secrets and Lies" by Mike Leigh. A superb film, funny with a happy ending, that seriously and originally explores the issue of adoption, from several people's point of view.

3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

what info do you need, that you can't get by googling?... there are many websites dvoted to adoption and forums where adopters and adoptees hang out... that's where you should go...

and you can do an amazon search for memoirs about cross-racial and foreign adoptions that will give you a good view of it from the inside...

4. molark

molark New Member

excellent film!

5. chicagoliz

chicagoliz Contributor Contributor

What sort of information do you need? I'd actually be careful about turning to fiction, because so many portrayals of adoptees in fictional works are the subjects of a lot of criticism by adoptees and others in the adoption community.