1. Andy Wilson

Andy Wilson New Member

From an author's perspective...

Discussion in 'Research' started by Andy Wilson, Feb 18, 2014.

Hey everyone,

My name is Andy, I'm a design masters student at Glasgow School of Art in Scotland and I'm conducting a short research project on the genres of self help, 'how to', training and educational books. I'm looking to explore from an author's perspective what problems and difficulties you face researching, creatiting, writing, publishing and getting feedback on your material.

This is a fresh, new area of investigation for me so forgive me for being a little vague. Any insights you can share will be greatly appreciated!

Also if you would prefer not to share your insights on this post please could you drop an email to my school address:[link removed]

Thanks very much!

Andy

2. cutecat22

cutecat22 The Strange One Contributor

sounds interesting.

3. Bryan Romer

Bryan Romer Contributor Contributor

I think your question simply covers too much ground. No one could give you a coherent reply. Perhaps if you restrict your question to one area, say "research", you might get more responses.

4. David K. Thomasson

David K. Thomasson Senior Member

+1
    The first step in any research project is to get clear on what you're trying to learn. As you say, your questions are vague. And as Bryan Romer says, the scope of your research is too broad. I'd suggest you go back to the drawing board, narrow the scope of your research, and then clarify the questions you want answered.

5. EdFromNY

EdFromNY Hope to improve with age Supporter Contributor

I'll ditto @Bryan Romer and @David K. Thomasson. Problems of research alone would make for a pretty extensive study, with different subject areas posing varying kinds of problems.

6. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor