1. RoyettaCore

RoyettaCore New Member

World Building, the acceptable way?

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by RoyettaCore, Oct 25, 2017.

Hello guys, it is my first time posting on this website, but I had a question about world building. Aside from the main character going about finding more on the world, I thought it would be nice to once in a while show other characters discussing their environmental circumstances far removed from the main character, although not unrelated. When I did this, there was a backlash from some of the readers who just wanted to see more of the main character and for me not to do these 'useless perspective shifts'.

My question is, was I wrong in how I did it? My immediate thought was that I didn't write the world interestingly enough for those people to want to know more about it. So could anyone give me some tips or advice to write from other character's perspectives? To make it enjoyable even if the Main Character isn't there?

Thank you

2. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

I don't think that a reader is going to be interested in a part of the world that isn't important to the plot, no matter how cool it is.

Was there a plot reason for these POV shifts?

Stormburn likes this.
  3. RoyettaCore

RoyettaCore New Member

To set up the next part of the story. I am currently writing fantasy and wanted to establish the power range of an enemy. In this case it was a rampaging stone golem. To do this, I wrote in the point of view of a footsoldier going up against this monstrosity. How impossible it would be to take this down. It was headed in the direction of where the main character resided.

I mean, if I didn't write this part, it would only end up being that a sudden massive monster appears out of nowhere.

4. OJB

OJB A Mean Old Man Contributor

I have an idea of what went 'wrong,' but before I dive into it, what exactly did you describe with this perspective character?

5. ChickenFreak