Tags:
  1. SlayGuy138

SlayGuy138 Member

A nuclear winter wasteland of misanthropy

Your feedback on this protagonist

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by SlayGuy138, Jun 8, 2015.

Hello all,

as my first real contribution to this board, I'd like your feedback on the main character of (what I hope will be) my debut project. I will admit I'm a total noob when it comes to stuff like this, and I'm lazy as well: the character is based largely off myself and is an embodiment of some of the thoughts I'd never say. I hope people don't think it's cliche or too "Holden Caulfield" but I would understand if you'd think that and won't hold it against you. First, a little background on the setting and plot:

Our courageous hero (not really, he's just a spiteful and misanthropic teenage white boy) has found himself in a situation in which virutally every aspect of his life is beyond his control. His emotionally abusive, bitchy and manipulative mother has tricked him and lied about him to a hospital social worker, causing him to be placed in a lockup facility for juvenile delinquents. It opens with him being strapped to a stretcher. As a general rule, adult authority figures in this novel are portrayed as sadistic, narcissistic, one-sided and hell-bent on upholidng the institutions of authority. With a minute few notable exceptions. The primary aim of this project is to be a vicious satire against the mental health system, and, by extension, all humanity.