1. UnknownBearing

UnknownBearing New Member

Mental Character Image

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by UnknownBearing, Jul 15, 2009.

does anyone here always have a clear-cut image of the character in their head before they start writing? you know every physical aspect about the character, hair color, eye color, facial structure, birth marks, nose bridge, everything.

i find that i often have no idea what my character looks like, besides maybe hair or eye color. but i know theres way more to a character than that, and i just often dont spend time thinking about it. even if i try to describe my characters in words, it doesnt anchor in any sort of mental image.

so i started drawing pictures of what my characters might look like, and it actually helps a lot.

[​IMG]

it's not perfect, but it gives me a pretty good idea for what i'm aiming for. does anyone else do this, or have some other method of managing to anchor in a mental image of their character? or maybe you just dont have an image at all?

2. Anders Backlund

Anders Backlund New Member

I rarely have a very clear idea of what my characters look like. However, I always have a kinda fuzzy idea of what they look like, which I can refine as I write the story.

I do have two characters that I know the exact appearance of, but that's because in my mind, they are played by Samuel L Jackson and Gwyneth Paltrow, respectively. ;)

3. losthawken

losthawken Author J. Aurel Guay Role Play Moderator Contributor

I used to have a strict idea in my head, but lately I've decided that most of those details are better left up to the reader. The more I let the reader interpret the characters appearance the better chance I (hope to) have of the reader identifying with the character. As such I've started trying to include only what is necc. to set the mood and 'show' the characters personality.

I do however, doodle my characters and scenes almost constantly.

~JG

4. Infrared

Infrared New Member