Tags:
  1. lawrencelpy

lawrencelpy Member

Do you guys study grammar before?

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by lawrencelpy, Dec 23, 2017.

Being a second-language writer, I studied grammar in high school. And whenever I write or edit my work, I would analyse my writing in a scientific manner.
    Do you guys write or edit your work based on feeling? or based on grammar?

2. Teladan

Teladan Contributor Contributor

That's an interesting question. Could you elaborate a little on this? I feel most of my writing is a necessary balance of the two. Is there anyone who can write without feeling, someone who focuses solely on grammar, syntax and spelling? I suppose for native English speakers--not that it's any indication that one's writing will be of a high standard if they're a native--can write with more of an intuitive feeling as they're not weighed down by having to remember certain rules.

3. lawrencelpy

lawrencelpy Member

Yes, the feeling I am referring to is the intuitive feeling.
    Even though you dont have to remember certain rules, you still have to know the rules.
    For example, my native language is Chinese. If I don't study its grammar, I might make mistakes. I guess the same is true for English, right?

4. Mink

Mink Contributor Contributor

I rely on intuitive feeling and always have. Often my writing is incorrect grammatically if you're using U.S. American English, but if you use British English to grade my writing then I'm often more correct grammatically. My spelling's more U.S. American, but I use commas too often and I've been told that this isn't England more than once in school and outside of school.

Grammar and spelling varies greatly from country to country so there's often a leniency in regards to that, at least for a lot of people. I know my basic rules, but I don't necessarily listen.

5. Lifeline

Lifeline South. Supporter Contributor