1. gina

gina Member

Writer who didn't like to read, help?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by gina, Dec 7, 2015.

I'm an aspiring writer but in the past didn't like to read. As a child I'd love to get lost in a book but as I grew older and problems with concentration and focus took hold my love for reading waned. I've notice writing is now hard for me and wonder if it's because I haven't read many books lately. In high school I excelled in English class and writing but as an adult lost that ability. It's painfully hard for me to write, it could also be because I suffer from depression and maybe cannot find enough words. I've also noticed in trying to write children's books I struggle with the plot. Maybe it's because I haven't read and not as familiar with a good story? Nonetheless I just started reading Twilight. It's an easier read and trying to introduce books back into my life. I want to be a writer. So what do you think, should writers be voracious readers and if they're not could it affect their ability to write a good story and express themselves?

2. No-Name Slob

No-Name Slob Member Supporter Contributor

It's hard to be a voracious reader with the every day demands that weigh on us. But reading inspires. Writers should absolutely read. It's simply a matter of practice and shifting time. For example, a good friend gives up social media for 6 months during every new year. Instead, she brings books every where she goes, and when she would check her Facebook, she reads instead.

jannert, Tesoro and BrianIff like this.
  3. No-Name Slob

No-Name Slob Member Supporter Contributor

(Ps - I'm also an ENFP and I struggle with reading, too. My brain is everywhere all the time, so it's hard for me to focus.)

4. gina

gina Member

Hello fellow ENFP! Yes, my mind races too!

5. AASmith

AASmith Senior Member