1. mazg

mazg New Member

A murder story: hero, conflict and voice

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by mazg, Jan 5, 2012.

I am trying my hand at my first creative writing project. The plot is based on a true story of the murder of one of my husband's ancestors. The murderess is one of the few women sentenced to death row in Canada for murder (later commuted to 15 years for lack of evidence - she was the only known person in the house at the time of death of the victim). I have no background in creative writing or the study of literature although I have written several lengthy family history narratives. My research has led me down the path of identifying a hero and a conflict which is where I am struggling.

I see two main options for the hero. The murderess herself or the judge at the murder trial. This has led me to ask the following questions.

1. Can a murderess be the hero of the story for reasons other than self-defence? A brief search has led me to the murder in "Of mice and men", a murder I consider altruistic and possibly noble (to save his friend from the anger of the townspeople). Does anyone know of any other instances where the hero of the story commits murder for less noble reasons but maintains the sympathy of the reader?

Does anyone have thoughts on using the following *justifications*:
    - in order to prevent a non-physical harm occurring to her lover (such as disinheriting him or selling the family homestead from under him)
    - in order to prevent a personal secret being exposed
    - mental cruelty (ridicule, insults etc)
    - in order to prevent being turned in as an enemy of war (a German living in Canada during WW1)
    - removing a disapproving parent who forbids marriage

2. I am torn between the following two options for point of view/voice. Does anyone have any comments on pros and cons for each point of view?