1. labelab

labelab Member

Writing beyond description

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by labelab, Mar 9, 2019.

As a writer, I'm very much description-centred.

I love to write about what things look like, to embellish and impress, to write things that sound beautiful.
    But that only gets you so far, doesn't it? What novel would be read without any action or emotion?
    I think this is why I've been so stumped with writing lately; being able to pen only a page before running out of ideas. Because I can't get emotionally invested in writing about what the sea looks like today. It's fun, but only lasts for a little while.

So how do I approach action? How can you make action and thoughts sound interesting? I'm afraid of writing an elaborate description and then having this horrible, awkward contrast with a plain lump of action. Does anyone else encounter this problem and agh, how do I fix it?!

:)

2. peachalulu

peachalulu Member Reviewer Contributor

I tend to bring my love of description to the action at the same time I try not to bog down the works.
    There's so many great vibrant verbs out there - scrunch, hiss, fumble, lick - that it becomes rather easy to bring a stylish note to everything without a lot of unnecessary embellishment. The key is to slant your writing towards the feeling of the character and or the overall style of the book so that you establish your tone and that helps you to not just write an action but to write it as only your mc could see it within the world of your story. It's like Willy Wonka in his chocolate factory making puns about whips for whipping cream like poached eggs are best when they're stolen in the dead of night. His replies become in and of themselves as wonderful as the descriptions.