1. swordlady

swordlady New Member

Writing Female Protagonist/MPDG Avoidance

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by swordlady, Dec 28, 2020.

(Sorry if this post is in the wrong category!!)

Is anyone else super critical of the way they write or create their female characters?

Everytime I create one, I am always trying to check off an imaginary "checklist" of things to make sure she is not a "manic pixie dream girl" or a "mary sue". As a female writer, I am nervous of accidentally creating one. Even if my character is not even close to being one, I'm still super weary about her showing traits of one.

Is this normal? Or is this something I need to talk to a professional about, haha.

2. Le gribouilleur

Le gribouilleur Active Member

I don't think you'd get any complaints about having a near-perfect dream girl character in your story if you give her at least one flaw.

Lifeline likes this.
  3. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

I don't think anybody is going to complain about your character as such, as long as you don't give her an easy ride through the story. Everybody loves her, she loves everybody except the bad guys, she solves every problem easily, there is no skill she doesn't already have or easily acquires, etc.

It's not in the initial creation of a character (on a 'traits list') that a Mary Sue is born, but rather it's how that character progresses through the story. Let them be frequently wrong, stubborn, misinformed, aggressive or overly passive. Let them be clumsy or awkward JUST at the moment when it would have been fantastic for them to be skilled instead. Let their personality and physical appearance be realistic. Let their outlook on events and other people also be realistic.