1. Sack-a-Doo!

Sack-a-Doo! Contributor Contributor

Writing is to Programming as...

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Sack-a-Doo!, Jun 30, 2016.

While I was out for my morning walk, it struck me that writing a story is like coding software. I used to be a programmer, so I see it in almost every aspect of life, but this time it was different; it was an epiphany.

Because when we write stories, we're programming the reader's brain to conjure up images and trigger emotions.

And this made me think about all the levels of programming involved when writing prose, everything from local variables (individual word choices) and expressions (sentences) all the way up to global variables (main character and story goal). Perhaps this is why I see story structure as being so important.

The beats (to use Blake Snyder's word) in the plot are like the steps in the main loop of a program: gather data, decide what to do with it, try something and if that doesn't work, try something else. And when the solution is finally found, regather the data and bang on it until it either breaks (sad ending) or works (happy ending).

Each scene is like a function. The reader comes in with certain expectations (entry conditions), watches while the MC and story goal (global variables) get mangled by the function (processing) and spit out the other end (end conditions). Sometimes the end conditions are not pretty.

Each sequel (see Swain's book if you don't know what this is) is like error handling or error recovery code. Things went wrong in the scene (the data got mangled) so things need to be put right(ish) again before we can move on. Sometimes it can be like kicking the dents out of a fender after an accident, if I can bring in a whole other metaphor for a moment just for the imagery. The MC (global variable) has something new to try (another function) and so reader expectation is set up for the next scene.