1. Alastair Woodcock

Alastair Woodcock Active Member

Writing Jack Spurling: A Progress Journal

Discussion in 'Progress Journals' started by Alastair Woodcock, Mar 31, 2018.

I'm doing this as a means to 'motivate' myself to get properly going on the second book in my teenage time-traveller trilogy.

The first book was written in about 4 weeks, after a month or so of preparation. The first chapter had been written seven years ago and left to fester as I lacked the discipline and drive to finish it.

Somebody I had recently met read some of my stuff and said I was a good writer and told me to finish the story so I did. Nothing like that sort of motivation.

Jack Spurling was a random creation of mine seven years ago when I wrote that first chapter. He is now someone I feel I know quite intimately and I think I've almost brought him to life. He'll necessarily have to grow up a lot in the second adventure. He spent a week or so in Roman Britain during the first book and achieved quite a lot, given his tender years and lack of life experience.

Now I'm ready to dust him off and get him out of my brain for another outing.

I've got a draft introduction done (I don't do prologues) which is a brief historical summary to give an idea of the 'backdrop' to the story and as is my habit, the last page or so is also written, so I already know, roughly, how I want to end it. This will be a 'quest' which will be essentially set over two books and I'm still not sure if I'll just write both in one big go or go at it one at a time.

I aim to get going next week on a semi-detailed chapter by chapter summary and character list. This story will be set in three time periods, so it will be quite challenging. I've already spent 2-3 months researching the Ancient Greeks and have refreshed my knowledge of the Romans as they'll still play a major part in this part of the trilogy.