1. UltimateZero

UltimateZero New Member

Writing Multiple POV Characters?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by UltimateZero, Jul 9, 2017.

This is a total noob question, so I apologize in advance, but I've struggled with this internally for too long and I'd like to get on with my writing - hopefully with this bothering me a little less.

I've been struggling with character time vs plot time while writing. I have three main POV characters and as I've been writing, I've changed between them while writing as the plot progresses. I'll often write a chapter as one POV character, then switch to another character for the next chapter. While sometimes this feels refreshing, I've been finding it has been staggering the story. I often think of how the last POV character encountered the situation and try to relate it to the current one, rather than view it uniquely through my current character. My story mostly focuses on the characters, I think the plot offers depth to those who want to dig, but simple enough to for the average reader to enjoy.

tldr; I'm sorry if that came out jumbled and confusing, but do you write your story linearly by plot or character?

2. Dracon

Dracon Contributor Contributor

I find it easier writing the story by the plot rather than by character. That way you get the continuity. If their stories are overlapping, you might want to think of some way of integrating their chapters so you don't keep on repeating events for different characters: a problem that I've been struggling with actually.

3. TheNineMagi

TheNineMagi take a moment to vote