1. caitrenee

caitrenee New Member

Writing situation help?

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by caitrenee, Jun 21, 2013.

First and foremost: hello. My name is Cait. I've been writing for quite a few years. However, I'm having some trouble.

I'm writing s bit of a story and you can think of this situation being a Lily Buchanan and Jay Gatsby sort of moment. Person A is fixing to tell Person B that they've been having an affair with Person C and they're moving out to go live with this person. In the past, Person B has been physically and verbally abusive to Person A (hence the leaving). In this entire situation, Person C is beside Person A and after Person A tells Person B, they plan on being a talking distraction while Person A packs their items.

My main question is; how would you have Person A tell Person B they're leaving them without sounding too corny or long about it?

2. Mithrandir

Mithrandir New Member

In the general vicinity of the Atlantic Ocean
    This might be a bit direct, but how about, "I'm leaving." It's not long, though it might be a little corny.

But there is a bigger issue here: Why don't you know what your character would say? How could we, who have no idea who your character is (not even the name or gender), know what Person A would say?

1 person likes this.
  3. Steerpike

Steerpike Felis amatus Contributor

Cait:

I think the important thing here is that you know your characters, and how the information is told to the other character is going to depend on that. Some people might be long-winded and corny. Others might be direct. Some may try to soften the blow while others are harsh. The characteristics that you've created for Person A will determine how he or she presents the information to Person B.

4. Gregory Stark

Gregory Stark New Member