1. Youniquee

Youniquee (◡‿◡✿) Contributor

Incorporating metaphors into writing.

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Youniquee, Dec 1, 2010.

I'm not good at it..or metaphors in general. When writing do you need to use metaphors?
    How should I go about this?

2. Elgaisma

Elgaisma Contributor Contributor

Mine happen by accident - I never intend them - just aim for a good story

Don't think I have ever read a bloody good story, put the book down and thought you know what there aren't enough metaphors in that.

It is a different kind of writing - do you like to read literary fiction? If you do then that is great if not write a good story.

3. flanneryohello

flanneryohello New Member

If, during the course of telling your story, it works to use a metaphor, then great. But to specifically aim to include them, whether or not the story calls for it? That's totally unnecessary. Writing fiction isn't like completing a school assignment. There are no requirements or criteria. Figure out the story you want to tell, and write it. All the reader really expects is for you to make your prose readable and (hopefully) compelling.

4. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

i have to agree in principle with flannery...

how much good fiction do you read?... look over a few novels by well-respected authors and see how they use metaphors, similes and other artistic goodies...

5. minstrel

minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Supporter Contributor

Metaphors just happen, more to some people than to others. I have a roommate who's one of the most amazing talkers I've ever heard, and he talks in metaphors all the time. He swims, metaphorically speaking, in an ocean of metaphors.

The problem that he has, and that many inexperienced writers have, is that the metaphors chosen are not exactly appropriate. You have to be careful that the metaphors say exactly what you intend.

6. JeffS65

JeffS65 New Member