1. I have pet rats!

I have pet rats! New Member

Writing voice old fashioned

Discussion in 'Point of View, and Voice' started by I have pet rats!, May 8, 2022.

Hello everyone,

I'm writing my 2nd book (1st unpublished, just for fun. I had no idea what I was doing).

This time I've taken a writing course and done a lot of research,and I think it's going a lot better.

My partner is proof reading for me (she reads constantly and knows a good book). She has commented my writing sounds old, already heard and not modern, like I'm a 1920s writer. She says a modern reader isn't into that and I need to modernise my style.

The problem is no matter what I write Its got an old tone.

Would anyone be able to help me find a modern voice, I'm writing high fantasy.

Thanks all.

Please excuse the post, I'm tying on a tablet and I'm trying to get the point across in brief, typing on a tablet is frustrating!

Seven Crowns likes this.
  2. Bruce Johnson

Bruce Johnson Contributor Contributor Contest Winner 2023

It's going to be hard to answer unless you post some examples. Not sure if it would need to be posted in the workshop which would require workshop credits. Maybe a passage or two here may be O.K.

Is it your word choices? Two much telling? Hard to say without seeing a sample.

3. I have pet rats!

Hi,

Here's a snippet:

The murk of midnight was upon the cosmos. Darkness, the all in all of existence. The world was
    awash with the seas, no speck of muck or crag of rock stood above the devouring deep. The ocean
    perched on the edges of infinity, deathly still for aeon upon aeon.

Thanks for the help.

4. TheOtherPromise

TheOtherPromise Senior Member

I can see what you mean about that old tone. Most modern books wouldn't describe a scene like that.