1. Exter

Exter New Member

Amateur writer here, can't pick a start for the book

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Exter, May 5, 2017.

I recently developed an interest in writing, I have no past experience and struggling to choose the way to start my story.
    It's going to be a sort of Zombie-Apocalypse, with not just regular 'zombies' but weird mutated versions of different types. Now I know how my story will go and I have written the characters and the different types of 'mutants' with their abilities. But what I can't decide is a start for the story.
    Easiest start would have been character waking up in hospital (from a coma or whatever) and world gone to hell. But it's done enough times already.
    I want to pick a way similar to the above, where the MC is somehow "away" from the mainstream world and world goes to hell. Because in this manner he can slowly learn from different characters of their knowledge about different mutants. And this type of start would just go along more smoothly with how I've planned the rest of story.
    So I have come up with 3 ways in which I could start it but I feel like all of them are not really good and I can't pick just one or think of another one. (By the way it's in first person )

(Also in all these starts, people have already heard about some sort of virus or parasite that had spread in some cities but no one expected it to spread everywhere so rapidly not even the media and government.)

First idea of start - MC is away on a cruise and heading back to shore after 3-4 days on the sea. When the ship returns to land, world is already gone to hell.

Second idea - MC committed a crime ( not a very rough one) and he is in prison for a month or two. While he is in there world goes to hell and he gets out and learns about details from other survivors.