1. Taylee91

Taylee91 Carpe Diem Contributor

Forming Characters: How Do You Do It?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Taylee91, Aug 17, 2010.

So there have been discussions about whether character profile sheets are useful or not useful. Being a less seasoned writer, I like to use the sheets and then add more depth to my characters. But that is just me.

How do you guys form characters? Is there another, more systematic path?

Thanks.

T

2. MedleyMisty

MedleyMisty New Member

My way is another path, but ain't nothing systematic about it.

I just start writing, and I find the characters in the writing. I find music for them and that tells me a lot about them, the kind of songs that fit them.

I get a lot of insight from reading the comments of others on my work and replying to them. Like a long time ago, when I was writing the final act of the first story featuring the guy in my avatar - he was the antagonist then - a reader said that he was many things but a liar wasn't one of them. He was honest and would always tell the truth.

Now he is the protagonist and many years younger, and on the latest chapter a reader commented on how straightforward he is. And so when two different readers saw that in him, at vastly different ages and when he was the antagonist and now when he's the protagonist - well, I reckon he is honest and straightforward. I didn't set out to write him like that. I don't do character profiles. But it came through because it is who he is. I just didn't consciously plan that.

The closest I came to profiling was when I originally created the Valley characters in the Sims 3 game and gave them five personality traits and decided what they looked like and what clothes they would wear. I do recommend that if you're already into the game - it was very useful.

3. erik martin

erik martin Active Member