1. Marcelo

Marcelo Member

About English..

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Marcelo, Jun 26, 2008.

More problems from this aspiring writer :D

You see... I'm Mexican. I'm also 14 years old, and I know I have a lot of time to master English. However, sometimes I think I won't be able to. So when I'm reading, I scribble any word whose meaning I don't know. Most of the books I read had like 20 or 30 words but, Mr. Tolkien surprises me yet again! In just a few chapters I have already found 87 words. This discourages me, anyone knows of a better (not necessarily better, but faster) way to learn English?

2. Rebekkamaria

Rebekkamaria New Member

Watch movies without subs/dups, read a lot, check the spelling of the words you're not sure about (thesaurus can be your best friend: http://www.thefreedictionary.com/), talk with your online friends, write a lot, read the grammar book, learn to find other people's mistakes (don't correct people all the time, though) etc. :D

3. PipeandPen

PipeandPen New Member

Don't be too down about Tolkien can articulate in a very broad vocabulary, but just continue what you're doing.

Rebekkamarie gave great advice, and I can't think of anything to add to it.

4. Lucy E.

Lucy E. Active Member

Marcelo, from what I've seen of your writing, you have a better grasp of the English language than many native English-speakers do. Rebekkamaria's advice is very good. Also, remember that for every word you write down and look up, your English is improving. As PipeandPen said, Tolkien has a very broad vocabulary and I'd be lying if I said I know what every word he uses means. Crumbs, my ENGLISH TEACHER is Mexican. She learned English when she was sixteen, and by now she's written and published five English novels!
    Keep at it, read a lot, write a lot,

5. JanesLife

JanesLife New Member