1. Angharad

Angharad New Member

Novel My new novel is all planned, ready to start writing - but I'm too terrified to start!

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Angharad, Feb 7, 2009.

Hello from Australia! I'm new to Writing Forums, and I'm really enjoying reading through a lot of the posts here - a lot of wonderful inspiration here, it seems like a terrific community.

Sorry to make my first post here so woeful, but - well, I have a terrible problem, and I'm really hoping someone can help me.

I have this new novel all planned, and ready to start writing. It's been ready for months - but I just can't bring myself to begin! I keep putting it off, thinking, "The time's not right - maybe I'll start tomorrow..." but tomorrow never comes!

I desperately want to start, I feel so excited and inspired by the story - but when it comes to actually starting it, I'm instantly paralysed with terror. Even the thought of writing a "crappy first draft" fills me with inexplicable fear. Thing is, I've written 3 novels already (unpublished)m so I've proved I can at least finish a book...but this time, I really don't know what's wrong with me.

I feel like I know my characters, and the story is all there, I can see it as clearly as watching a film. What on earth is causing this fear? I'm really scared of stuffing up what feels like a great story - it's as though I'm afraid I won't capture it on paper as perfectly as the story in my head!

I'm happy to write ABOUT the novel in my notebooks, but I just can't bring myself to start writing the thing itself!

Am I too in love with the idea of this novel, perhaps? Maybe it's "safer" to keep it in my head, rather than risk exposing it to the harshness of reality...

I'm really scared I'm going to wake up one day and find that I'm 100 years old, and I still haven't started the wretched thing.