Tags:
  1. Shlockmaster

Shlockmaster New Member

Ownership question

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by Shlockmaster, Jan 27, 2018.

I guess i should start off with saying that any moderator can feel free to move this is I've placed this in the
    wrong section.

I've come pretty close to getting a series published and the reason i'm holding off is because i'm worried about the ownership. The entire saga is my original creation and I've been holding off because I'm worried that the firm I've selected may fight me for ownership of the material. I'm barely making ends meat right
    now and the last thing i want to do is hand over my I.P to someone else

2. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

It sounds like you need to show any contract to a lawyer.

3. The Dapper Hooligan

The Dapper Hooligan (V) ( ;,,;) (v) Contributor

What kind of firm are we talking about? A literary agency? A publishing house? Some other third thing?
    I'm by no means an expert, but in the contract somewhere there should be a list of rights that the firm is seeking to buy from you. Usually these will be listed as publishing rights, distribution rights, and stuff like that. There should also be a neat little addendum underneath these all that say something to the effect of "all rights not explicitly stated are retained by the author." This means that if in the contract they don't explicitly state they want the rights to something and what that entails, you automatically keep those rights. There are lots of other parts to this, too, so I agree with @ChickenFreak that if there's something about it you don't understand, then you should probably talk to either a lawyer or an agent about it.

4. Laurin Kelly

Laurin Kelly Contributor Contributor

Going to chime in with if you have a contract with "the firm I've selected." Your rights should be clearly be spelled out in any contract and if not you should definitely pump the brakes.

5. BayView