1. MangoTree

MangoTree New Member

How to make an unwilling/scared character help another?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by MangoTree, Oct 12, 2016.

Hello. I'm very new to writing. Sadly, I'm currently faring really badly in my English story writing class. Would appreciate any tips or help.
    So my lecturer wants a specific story with all these elements: Exposition, Set-up, catalyst, conflict intro, conflict development, turning point, climax and resolution. But so far, she's been rejecting all my plot (saying its not really relate-able or doesn't make sense) making it hard for me to progress past conflict.
    My current story is of a young boy of 13 who can see ghost, he is terrified of them because of their appearances etc, so he would ignore them all. But one day at the hospital, he chance upon a young girl spirit who was chase by an evil ghost (in the form of a dark shadow) who wants to eat her spirit to become stronger. Whenever the evil ghost comes, the area becomes dark. They manage to get away and she begged him to help, but he is too terrified to help her.
    So my current conflict is whether the boy helps her or ignore her as he did like he always did. But in order to push it along, he must help her...but I can't seem to find a good enough reason for the boy to help her...so...any suggestions?

2. big soft moose

big soft moose An Admoostrator Admin Staff Supporter Contributor Community Volunteer

Really you lecturer should be helping you develop these points rather than just telling you its crap - next time ask her for some specific action points to help you create something more relateable

that aside you also have problems with 'they manage to get away' why does the young boy need to get away if he can just ignore the ghosts