1. Bongo Mongo

Bongo Mongo New Member

Short Story And what if you get bored?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Bongo Mongo, May 13, 2010.

A little background info: I'm not a very good writer, not in the sense that I'm bad at the actual writing part, but I have never finished a short story. I am a novice so far, and only really started four or five stories. The thing is, every time I try and write a short story I got bored half way through and scrapped it to start a new and more exciting story idea.

Well, It's happening again. I am about 3/4 the way done with my current story, and it is really just a drag to write. I feel like my state of boredom is just seeping through my mind and into my writing, which makes me even less motivated to finish it. Pretty much a vicious cycle.

I have three stories I really feel passion for, but they would be all very long, and without finishing at least one short story I feel like I wouldn't be able to finish them.

What do I do??

2. izanobu

izanobu New Member

What do you get bored with? The setting? The characters? The plot? Sounds like it might be that you just don't have enough of a plot building to sustain a story arc. Have you tried writing from an outline? Or using one of the stock story arcs? (Something like: likable protagonist has obvious goal, tries and fails to get it, tries and fails again, and then tries and through their own power achieves the goal).

I would say you should probably just make yourself finish something. But if you aren't passionate about it, don't write it. The things you are passionate about, write them. See if you can finish those projects. A lot of writers (especially on novel projects) get bogged down in the middle. Jim Butcher calls this "the great swampy middle" and has a post about it and some ideas for getting through it.

Hope some of that helps :)

3. Banzai

Banzai One-time Mod, but on the road to recovery Contributor