1. stevesh

stevesh Banned Contributor

Things I Learned On The Way To Looking Up Other Things

Discussion in 'Research' started by stevesh, May 17, 2014.

One third of all the motels in the United States are owned by people named Patel.

Mckk likes this.
  2. minstrel

minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Supporter Contributor

That's interesting. I'm an electronics engineer, and I've had to deal with many printed-circuit board companies, in places from Montreal to Toronto to Vancouver to Los Angeles. About 90% of them are owned and operated by people from India. Lots of Patels in that group, too. What gives?

3. stevesh

Apparently, people named Patel in India are members of a particular caste, and when they emigrate here (or Canada) they tend to help each other get established. In the US, they've gravitated to the motel business.

If anyone here is from India, or has knowledge about this, please chime in.

4. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

Not to nit-pick too much here because this is an interesting bit of trivia, but one thing I learned a very long time ago is not to believe everything you read. Rather look into it first. This information is possibly mostly true with some caveats.

First you have the information from Wiki: Patel Motel Phenomena
    Mid-sized motels are not "all motels".

But that paragraph is followed by:
    So is it 60% or 50%, and what proportion of all hotels in the US are "motels" or "mid-sized motels"? There are some very large motel chains in the US. In the city I live in, there are no small motels that I know of. Nearby in some less well off cities, small motels are where drugs are cooked and prostitutes work out of.

So, on to the sources of the information: 5, 7, & 8.

5: A Patel Motel Cartel? 1999

7: Planet India 2007

8: Fresh Blood: The New American Immigrants 1998

Two of those are not exactly current sources. From the NYTs we find the information comes from the AAHOA:
    So is that a reliable source?