1. Neoaptt

Neoaptt Banned

How can you stand it?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by Neoaptt, Feb 25, 2010.

I sent in my information to about 10 publishers yesterday. Now I'm waiting for them to respond if they want my stories or not... I'm not sure what to do now. How do you guys stand the wait? This is my first time trying to publish anything.

How am I supposed to wait and sit here? What do you guys do to pass the time? I should be getting 1 response in about a week. The rest could take up to 2 months...

2. Banzai

Banzai One-time Mod, but on the road to recovery Contributor

Write.

3. iolair

iolair Active Member

This.

You should be working on your next writing project.

4. whiskeyjameson

whiskeyjameson Member

Can't agree more. Once you send it out it is out of your hands and out of your mind. Don't worry about it. Just keep writing.

5. Neoaptt

Neoaptt Banned

I guess thats write (pun). But... I just... I don't know. Thanks though.

6. whiskeyjameson

whiskeyjameson Member

It's fairly cut and dry. To be a writer you must write. All you're doing is waiting around to either be accepted or rejected. If you get accepted you have to write new stories or whatever. If you get rejected you have to write/ re-write. So in the mean time why not just write?

7. TWErvin2

TWErvin2 Contributor Contributor

You submit, and keep track on a spread sheet or file of some sort, and then write something else.

With short stories it can be days, weeks or months before you get an answer.

After a while, you'll get used to waiting. It's part of the business.

Terry

8. Neoaptt

Neoaptt Banned

Thanks Terry. I don't know what i should keep track of though. I keep all my emails i sent and receive and thats pretty much how i track anything.

9. TWErvin2

TWErvin2 Contributor Contributor

Keeping emails works, but once you get to submitting a work a second and third time until it finds a home, it can get confusing.

I keep track of:

Title of the Work