1. Michael00002

Michael00002 New Member

Is there Authorial Voice in Extreme, 3rd-person deep POV?

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Michael00002, May 22, 2018.

Hi,
    This is driving me crazy, so any help and thoughts would be appreciated.

I'm writing my story in third-person. I guess it would be called deep-pov. Basically I'm trying to convey the story as if the Character IS the Narrator. So everything is experienced as if through the character.

So my question is: Where is the author's voice in all this? Mine.

If I truly commit to this extremely close 3rd person pov--and was completely successful with it--would there ideally be NO authorial voice? Or maybe they one and the same?

Taking this logic further, if I wrote another book with the same narration style but wildly different characters, would this new book completely feel like a different author wrote it?

I'm asking because I have a few things as an author I want to convey through my voice--some fun quips and whatnot--but I feel I can't squeeze them in when committing absolutely to this narration style.

I feel like I'm gaining a very experiential storytelling style but losing anything that could be achieved with authorial voice. And basically want to get the best of both worlds, if possible.

Thanks again.

2. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

I would say that if you are writing in "deep" 3rd person limited, then no, your voice as the author has no business there. That would be narrative intrusion of the truly intrusive variety, and at the depth you say you wish to write the POV, it would be the most jarring.

The story I am currently writing is revolving 3rd person limited. Each chapter is a different character focus. It's certainly not easy to remain off the page - me, the writer - but I'm trying very hard.

Others will surely have other things to say. All of this is only ever opinion.

3. Cave Troll

Cave Troll It's Coffee O'clock everywhere. Contributor