1. jo spumoni

jo spumoni Active Member

La Jolla, CA (and Mission Viejo, CA, during the su

Marketing plan?

Discussion in 'Marketing' started by jo spumoni, Sep 24, 2010.

Hi all,

I'm starting to look into publishers for a fantasy young-adult novella I've written and I've found a lot of them ask me to submit a marketing plan along with the query letter. What does that mean, exactly?

This is my first book--I'm extremely new to writing, and I'm only 19 years old. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Sounds like a self-publisher/vanity press. Real publishers handle those details themselves.

3. jo spumoni

jo spumoni Active Member

La Jolla, CA (and Mission Viejo, CA, during the su
    It actually does not appear as though the publishers I am looking at are vanity press. They're a small independent company I found through duotrope.com. They're called Eternal Press (if you know anything about them, good or bad, please let me know), and they publish a lot of e-books (they say they have books in print, too).

Thanks for answering, Cogito.

4. TWErvin2

TWErvin2 Contributor Contributor

In truth, larger publishers will expect the author to get out there/be available and promote (interviews, signings, blogs and other events).

What the smaller publishers want to know is if the author has a plan or an idea of how they intend to help get the word out and promote. They're looking to avoid an author who only writes and has no idea or no intention on helping with promotion of their novel(s). No matter how good a novel is, if word isn't gotten out--it won't be a success. The publisher will lose money, and the author will not be offered a contract for another novel with that publisher, and it could be more difficult to find another publisher willing to give the author a shot.