1. ToxicWaste

ToxicWaste New Member

Plot Help with Time Travel

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by ToxicWaste, Apr 2, 2010.

I'm a newbie to the forum and thought I'd post a question. What are your thoughts on time travel? If you wrote a story on time travel which school of thought would you subscribe to: the time is fixed (12 monkeys), the time is changeable but the changes are easy to predict (Back to the Future), or the time is changeable and the changes are too complex to predict (Butterfly Effect)?

Personally I was thinking of basing my story around a future where resources have become increasingly depleted and time travel to the past has become popular, just to escape the destitute present. Of course this time travel is only a vacation, but as with any vacation to a foreign land, the tourists end up screwing stuff up if only by leaving a huge amount of litter behind.

Introduce our hero, the man who takes the job a time janitor because it pays more than working at Costco. However he finds himself increasingly wanting to just stay in the past forever, despite it being his job to stop people from doing just that. Despite being young (23) he is a misanthrope who seems to like neither those living in the past or the present.

I'll be placing an emphasis on hard science and not wishy washy "magic" science.

Any suggestions?

That's where I am now.

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Use whichever model works best with your story. If you pick up a copy of Thrice Upon a Time by James P. Hogan, you'll find some good discussion about the logical consequences of several models, along with the model the evidence in the story leads them to accept - a model I personally find to be beautifully elegant and plausible.