1. sonomawriter

sonomawriter New Member

Good Dilemma...I guess!?

Discussion in 'Marketing' started by sonomawriter, Jan 22, 2013.

I am a short story writer, but I've only published once before. I have a story that I sent out to several lit mags and contests in the Fall. In November, I learned that the story was a runner-up for a contest run by a small lit mag, who wanted to publish it (without paying me). In late November, after hemming and hawing, I accepted.

I withdrew my story from all the other places, save two: the two biggest and best known, mostly because it was a hassle. Bad move!

Today, I got an email from one of the biggest lit mags in the business telling me that my story is on a short list for possible inclusion in the Fall 2013 issue.

I have no idea what my obligation to the small mag is, legally speaking, since no money changed hands. I have no idea what their publication calendar looks like. I have no idea if I could even withdraw this story if I wanted to.

I feel badly about this, because I screwed up. I don't want to behave badly, but the small mag has a circulation under 800 and the other would be a HUGE thing for my career. HUGE.

I am pretty sure you will all tell me that I need to just suck it up and kiss the big guy goodbye, but I wanted to check for some advice.

2. chicagoliz

chicagoliz Contributor Contributor