1. XLadyX

XLadyX Banned

mentioning Disney characters

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by XLadyX, Nov 28, 2014.

I know Disney has copyright things about mentioning the actual location and place, but is it okay to mention Disney characters? Like I want to say when I describe what this one girl looks like, I want to say she looks like Shrek. Is that allowed? Do you mention Disney characters in your stories?

2. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

I am not a lawyer.

From what I've read about copyright and trademark, I doubt that Disney could WIN a copyright or trademark suit in this situation if you fought one to the end.

I doubt that there are many people that can afford to fight a copyright or trademark lawsuit to the end, if Disney is their opponent, so whether you win might be irrelevant. The first few hours with your lawyer would probably cost more than you'd ever earn from the fictional work.

So my conclusion would be to abandon the idea, unless it was essential to the core purpose of the story.

3. XLadyX

XLadyX Banned

I really don't want to risk it. I guess maybe I can change it to she really does look like a grunting troll under the bridge then, I suppose, but Shrek literally describes this girl I know to a tee, hehe.

4. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

Another thing to keep in mind is that Shrek may or may not produce an image in the average reader's mind a few years from now. The reference could pretty drastically date your book/story.

Mike Hill, Lemon flavoured and XLadyX like this.
  5. shadowwalker

shadowwalker Contributor Contributor

Ever read a book where McDonald's is mentioned, or the title of another book, or a song title? The mere mention of a copyrighted work or a trademark is not a violation. Reproducing significant parts of the work without permission, or where use of the trademark would cause confusion for consumers or dilution of the trademark, will cause you big headaches.