1. YoungWriter2017

YoungWriter2017 New Member

Writers' Blog Urgent: Etiquette involved in publishing a blog post

Discussion in 'Marketing' started by YoungWriter2017, Jul 26, 2017.

Hi everyone, I'm new to writing and new to this forum.

I work for a client and was contracted work to interview someone to obtain details to write a blog post.

I've written the blog post and sent it to the client; the client is impressed.

I want to reach out to the interviewee and provide an update re: when the article will be published and I also believe it is important that the interviewee "reviews" what I've written (I plan on sending an MS Word doc).

I think it's only fair and right that the person "reviews" what I've written about them.

How do I go about doing this? Is this normal practice?

I don't want the interviewee to publish/distribute/share what I've written, so I'll include a note about that in the email. Once the article is published on the client's website, then sure--the interviewee can share the link to the client's site.

I'm looking for some guidance from seasoned writers.

Thank you.

2. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

I think that you absolutely need the client's permission before you do this. This isn't your project--it belongs to the client. Now, the client may actually want you to do it, but I don't think that it's something to do without consulting them.

Laurin Kelly, jannert and Trish like this.
  3. YoungWriter2017

Thank you. I didn't think of it that way.

Looking forward to others' feedback.

4. Trish

Trish Damned if I do and damned if I don't Contributor

I agree with @ChickenFreak Your responsibility is to the client. They decide. The person you interviewed's expectations should be that any quotes or information given about them in the piece is accurate. They don't get to veto or change what you've written. I understand how you feel, but don't do anything without the permission of the entity paying you.