Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aberdeen

aberdeen Member

How much help have you really gotten from other writers?

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by aberdeen, May 22, 2014.

I could go on and on about this topic but will be very brief. I have been writing for a couple of years now and hope to publish a collection of my essays within the next few months. I realize that my situation may be very unusual . Since the vast majority of people here concentrate on fiction, it's possible that none of you will be able to identify with my own situation.
    Whether justified or not, I must say that I have been disappointed in my contacts with other writers. Everyone needs a helping hand, and it only makes sense to at least try to reach out to others. If only a few prove to be of meaningful assistance, it would still be worth the effort.
    I have written to several dozen leading authors and columnists in the past few years and received little to no real encouragement advice, or even information. I admire their work, so how come they aren't interested in responding to my letters and emails? Are they just too busy, self-absorbed, or arrogant to reach out to beginners such as myself? That seems to be the case.
    I know a writer near where I live in Connecticut (USA). She has read some of my emails and tells me that I write very well. However, has she ever encouraged me to write for a living, or even asked me if I even do anything with it these days? The answer is a big no. Despite her twenty books so far, she has told me that it's been hard to make money in the field in recent years.