1. NoNathanielNo

NoNathanielNo New Member

How does this sound for a 1st idea..

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by NoNathanielNo, Jan 3, 2011.

I am in the first stages of comprising a plot/storyline/characters for my first story. Unsure as of yet if it's even going to be a short story or a novel, or what. I assume short story would be best to start with as this is my first time attempting this.. Anyways, I would like some opinions on a few ideas I have -

Please excuse the vagueness of some of it, like I say, I am in the first stages..

+ Set somewhere in south of England & France
    + Woman in late 20's has good group of family & friends, great artist, loves Churches, Graveyards, cathedrals, both used and disused as appreciates the architecture, the variations of styles, the haunted links to some, the origins etc
    + Has a derilict/disused small church yard not to far from her home in South of England where she likes to go to draw and to be alone
    + Takes trips around Europe to see, draw, admire other churches, yards, etc this story finds her in France where she finds a church yard almost identical to the one she visits frequently at home, although this one had been in a fire quite some time ago
    + Fasinated by how close the imitation is, she spends most of her trip at this church yard, taking photos, and drawing it and it's surrounds, and writing her diary in as much detail as she can so she can compare for any discrepancies between the two when she returns home.

That is where most of my details end at the moment, I want the story to be about the gargoyles on the churches which come to life because of a link between the two identical church yards and throughout the story she finds out through these gargoyles and the misadventures that there are other living creatures out there once thought mythical I.e. Goblins, Elves, Trolls etc.

As I say, that is as far as I am so far with the details.