1. Adenay of the Island

Adenay of the Island New Member

Getting Too Attached to Badly Thought-out Plots

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Adenay of the Island, Apr 10, 2015.

If you're like me, you think for a while on a plot, come up with something vague, and feel like you're finished. Once you try to actually do something, you're crippled. Words appear before your eyes with all the force and speed of molasses.

Hopefully you're not like me. Hopefully you don't get stuck on a stupid, flimsy plot just because you don't want to go back and think some more.

I'm impatient. I've had these characters for a while now, and I love them, and do you blame me for wanting to just get onto the fun bits? For clarification, I'm an artist first, then a writer, so I want to combine these hobbies and make a comic. Drawing comes naturally to me. Art flows from my fingertips. I can't stop drawing! It's quick, fun, and easy for me.

Because of this, the whole writing part feels a bit tedious. Yes, I could just make a loose outline, but I want this done to the best of my ability, and a loose outline will not do that for me. What's happening is that I get stuck on the first thing I come up with, and have trouble letting go and starting over because I just want to get past this stage.

So, enough wordiness, sorry.

Have you ever been in a situation like this? Have you grown past it? What do you do to stop being afraid of writing dumb things?

2. KaTrian

KaTrian A foolish little beast. Contributor

First, I'm glad we now have a tag for "uaguhhhhhhhhggghg". Topics on that subject are hard to find! :D

Second, have you thought of collaborating with another writer? That might help you get out of the pit of flimsy plots and allow you to focus more on the drawing part.